canflyer
Sign in to follow this  
imverge

MBNA STARWOOD MASTERCARD COMMENTS?

I got my card last week and started using it immediatley.

I like the fact it has no annual fee and has some incentives to spend more on the card such as 5000 points after your first Purchase and another 5000 after your first stay at a Starwood hotel. Plus for every $10K you spend you get an annual bonus of 5K upto a max 15K...

Now what I don't like...

I wish that MBNA had a website that was dedicated to customers where you can view account and point earning activity.

I feel the balance transfer rate of 19.99% to be way too HIGH!

I also feel that any dollars spent at Starwood hotels should have a ratio of 1 dollar spent 1 earned.

Those are my feelings about where they can improve in the future. I am sure once they get some feedback from customers they will pursue improvments.

Any Comments?

I have been using the card for a couple of months now and have a couple of the same complaints, which I have voiced to MBNA.

My biggest pet peeve with the card is that you can't follow your purchases on the web! What year are we living in? I have been told this should be in place by the end of this year by a MBNA rep.

As for the balance transfer, when I phoned in this morning to report my first stay at a Sheraton last week at the end of the phone call I was told they are currently doing transfers at 4.6% (maybe 4.9?) and she was really pushing for me to use this service. I explained that I pay off all balances monthly but she was pretty persistent, telling me I could even just transfer some cash to my chequing account!! I almost had to hang up just to get her to shut up.

For the most part though I am happy with the card, and will use it until the $30K mark each year when I will switch back to using my Aerogold.